

# **National Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow**

### 2015 Agricultural Media Summit Business Meeting

#### I. Welcome

- a. Roll Call
  - i. Cal Poly 11 members
  - ii. Kansas State University 2 members
  - iii. Missouri State University 3 members
  - iv. Oklahoma state university 5 members
  - v. Tarleton State University 7 members
  - vi. Texas A&M University 4 members
  - vii. Texas Tech University 9 students 5 faculty
  - viii. Utah State University 6 member
  - ix. University of Arkansas 4 members
  - x. University of Georgia 1 member
  - xi. University of Illinois 5 students
  - xii. University of Missouri 4 members
- b. 61 members present

#### II. Officer Reports

- a. Communications Coordinator, Sidney Holland
  - i. Report;
    - 1. Social media/website management is what she did
- b. Member Relations Coordinator, Briana Jacobus
  - i. Report
    - 1. Different alumni reach out, helped with social media and blog, strong relationships with sponsors
- c. Secretary/Treasurer, Taylor Kennedy
  - i. Report
    - 1. **Diamond (\$1000 or more)** 
      - a. AAEA (\$2500) PD
      - b. AMS/LPC (\$1000+, Officer Registrations, Snacks, IN-KIND) PD
      - c. NAFB (\$1000+, Registration, Hotel, etc.) PD
      - d. National Pork Board (\$1000) PD
    - 2. Platinum (\$750 \$999)
      - a. John Deere (\$940) PD
    - 3. **Gold (\$500 \$749)**

- 4. Silver (\$250 \$499)
  - a. Iowa Pork Producers Association (\$250) PD
- 5. Bronze (\$249 and below)
  - a. National Crop Insurance (\$200) PD
  - b. Certified Angus Beef (\$100) PD
- 6. Critique & Contest (\$300)
  - a. High Plains Journal (\$300, C&C) PD
  - b. KSU Foundation (\$300, C&C) PD
  - c. Jay Procter Farms (\$275, C&C) PD
  - d. Avondale Haslet Animal Clinic (\$300, C&C) PD
  - e. Charleston Orwig (\$100, C&C) PD
  - f. United Sorghum Check-off (\$300, C&C)
  - g. CHS (\$500, C&C)

## TOTAL CASH: \$8065 (plus in-kind registrations, etc.)

- d. 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President, Maggie Seiler
  - i. Report
    - 1. covering for Hannah when she couldn't be there
    - 2. critique and contest changes
      - a. second year for online submissions, first year we had judges responces online, 380 entries from 14 universities
- e. President, Hannah Miller
  - i. Report
    - 1. Oversaw national officer team and commended them for their efforts
- III. Awards to advisers and thanks
- IV. Old Business
  - a. Approval of Professional Development Conference minutes
    - i. Leo Farias, Cal poly motioned to accepted the minutes
    - ii. Matt Hill Tarleton State University 2<sup>nd</sup>
- V. New Business
  - a. National ACT Officer Elections
    - i. President
      - 1. John Hawley
      - 2. Taylor Kennedy Elected
    - ii. Vice President
      - 1. Amanda Sales
      - 2. Allison Fortner Elected
    - iii. Secretary/Treasurer
      - 1. John Hawley Elected
      - 2. Bridget Schumer
    - iv. Member Relations Coordinator

- 1. Jessica Barrow
- 2. Kaity Carpenter
- 3. Kelsey Litchfield Elected
- 4. Yasmin Rey
- v. Communications Coordinator
  - 1. Bridget Schumer Elected
  - 2. Yasmin Rey
- b. Livestock Communications Council LPC internship
  - i. Hereford inc. Applications due September 1<sup>st</sup>, speed networking. Bring to AMS for students.
- c. Dr. Dorford engage students at celebration logo design contest from Smith Hughes possibly even a video look for email coming to you soon
- d. 2015 Professional Development Conference Update Oklahoma State
  - i. January 14<sup>th</sup> 16<sup>th</sup> theme #reddirtcomm
- e. 2017 PDC nominations
  - i. Sidney Holland nominates Texas A&M University
    - 1. Host at TAMU
      - a. Will present video at PDC

#### VI. Announcements

- a. See at you at the Awards Dinner tonight
- b. See you in Oklahoma

#### VII. Adjourn