

2019 Annual AMS Business Meeting July 30, 2019 | Minneapolis, MN

The regularly scheduled business meeting of the National Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow was called to order at 2:52 p.m. on July 30, 2019 at Agricultural Media Summit in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Roll call was called. The following universities and colleges were present: Kansas State University with 7 members and 2 advisors, Texas Tech University with 2 members and 0 advisors, University of Arkansas with 1 student and 1 advisor, Texas A&M University with 4 members and 2 advisors, Oklahoma State University with 4 members and 2 advisors, California Polytechnic University with 5 members and 1 advisor, University of Missouri with 8 members and 1 advisor, South Dakota State University with 1 member and 0 advisors, North Dakota State University with 1 member and 0 advisors, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College with 1 member and 1 advisor, University of Minnesota with 6 members and 1 advisor, Tarleton State University with 16 members and 1 advisors, Purdue University with 1 member and 0 advisors.

Minutes from the previous meeting were approved as read without objection.

Notice was given for a constitutional amendment to the duties of the Member Relations Coordinator. The constitutional amendment will be voted on at the annual Professional Development Conference in November in Kansas City, Missouri.

Mandy Taylor introduced the motion to instate Jefferson Miller, Ph.D. of the University of Arkansas as the Executive Treasurer for a term of five (5) years according to the constitution. A voice vote was called. Motion passed.

Jessica Wesson of University of Arkansas, Kane Kinon of Oklahoma State University, and Ryan Siegel ran for NACT President. A ballot vote was called. Receiving a majority of ballot votes, Jessica Wesson was elected President for a period of one (1) year according to the constitution.

Macee Hammack of Oklahoma State University ran for NACT Vice President. A motion was made by Janae McKinney of Kansas State University for unanimous consideration. Mikey Hughes of Kansas State University seconded. Motion passed. Macee Hammack was elected Vice President for a period of one (1) year according to the constitution.

Both Kane Kinon and Ryan Siegel slated down to Secretary/Treasurer. A ballot vote was called. Receiving a majority of the ballot votes, Ryan Siegel was elected Secretary/Treasurer for a period of one (1) year according to the constitution.

Katherine Wist of Kansas State University and Layne Mustian of Texas A&M University ran for NACT Member Relations Coordinator. A ballot vote was called. Vote tied. The current National ACT officer team broke the tie vote per the constitution. Katherine Wist of Kansas State University was elected Member Relations Coordinator for a period of one (1) year according to the constitution.

Chelsea Dinterman of Oklahoma State University ran for NACT Communications Coordinator and Layne Mustian slated down. A ballot vote was called. Receiving a majority of ballot votes, Layne Mustian was elected Communications Coordinator for a period of one (1) year according to the constitution.

Meeting adjourned at 3:43 p.m.